top of page
Search
  • gothaminterns2020

Stories to Tell


Welcome back!


So, how do you like it? How do you like it here, I mean. Posts are beginning to accumulate, and the blog is finding voice. We hope you’re enjoying it.


I want to drift a little bit this Friday by giving you this playlist. You'll find some links at the end of this post. I’m calling it Stories to Tell, and that is for a couple of reasons. One, I think every artist on this list is a marvelous storyteller. Their stories are thoughtful in the way that they are crafted, both sonically and lyrically. And then there is a sort of profundity in the way that these songs are delivered. Two, here at Gotham, we believe everyone has a story worth telling; a story worth listening to.That means, you, me, the artists on this playlist… Every one of us.


I won’t tell you what these songs mean to me, or what they’ve done for me. I want them to be yours, if you’ll have them. I want them to sit and resonate with you. I want them to float through your bones and settle in somewhere. I want them to take shape in whichever way you let them. Through sharing this, the experience is all of ours - collectively, sure. But it’s also yours alone at the same time, if that makes sense.

This is something I’ll come back to throughout my time here. I don’t want this to have an ending. I’m an avid listener of all things (music, people, conversations, etc.), so when I find more stories, more sounds; I’ll share them with you. Emma and Mary Kate have so kindly agreed to contribute to this space whenever they have something to share with you, too.


I hope you find something in this playlist. If it helps you write, that’s wonderful! Maybe it will kindle inspiration in you and nudge you into a story you want to tell. But if it doesn't do that, that’s ok. Maybe it will just be something you just enjoy hearing. Maybe you’ll find that one really overwhelming sound or lyric or artist that holds your attention. That leaves you feeling something deeper. Maybe it will just be a distraction, and that’s ok too. Whatever it is, I hope you find it.


Also, the links here will lead you to both Apple Music and Spotify. Stories to Tell is on both platforms, because I know everyone has their preferences. I hope one of these will be convenient. If you're having trouble, I'd recommend going directly to whichever app, searching "Sakshi Kumar" under profiles or "Stories to Tell" under playlists, and Stories to Tell will be there for you.



And now I’m done talking.


Happy Friday. Here’s to all the stories we have to tell.


Sincerely,


Sakshi

88 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Scriptwriting!

As Sakshi mentioned in her last post, everyone here at Gotham has their own blend of preferred reading and writing material. I personally have never been particularly drawn to reading unless it’s a su

Read Living Poets.

When we introduced this blog to you, I told you that every single person here has very distinct writers and writing styles they prefer to read. Emma, for example, is an avid reader of fiction (and an

For the Love of Writing

Writing is a long, arduous process. It's frustrating, time consuming, and takes a lot of practice to be good. Sometimes, obstacles arise that make us want to quit completely. Yet, so many people (myse

bottom of page